Yes, you can opt them out manually by clicking the Opt-Out link next to a contact in a list. This will ensure that even if you upload them again they will remain opted out.
You can also add an opt-out instruction to outgoing messages to allow recipients to opt-out directly.
They just need to reply STOP and they will be opted-out. Opt-out instructions are added automatically when you use our free response number.